Discussion relating to advanced courses on canine behaviour modification

Introductions for Members

Admin
    Admin

Introductions for Members

Post  Admin on Mon Mar 29, 2010 8:10 am

Hi, my name is Christine Stansfield. I live near Malton, North Yorkshire with my husband, two children (Rebecca 18 and James 16), three dogs (Peggy - weimaraner, 12; Bramble -collie cross rescue c11; Beth - Welsh Springer, 4), 2 cats (Ellie and Tammy) and 4 horses. I spend much of the summer in the horsebox ferrying the kids and horses around to polocrosse training and tournaments.

I run a canine business offering behaviour, training, boarding, grooming, walking services with my husband. I have been working as a dog trainer for the last 9 years and have the HNC CBT. I am a member of the APDT.

Just about to start the ADipCM with Compass and am looking forward to it but am a bit apprehensive as the little grey cells don't work as well as they used to!

Also looking forward to getting to know some like minded people on the forum. Very Happy
    olwen

Re: Introductions for Members

Post  olwen on Mon Mar 29, 2010 10:58 am

Hi

My name is Olwen. I have just started the ADipCBM course. I am currently running dog training classes and find that there is a lot of crossover between what people think is training and what they think is a behaviour problem.

I get the two ends of the extreme from "Can I bring my dog training as s/he's agressive to people" to the "I need you to come and help with my 10 week old puppy who won't come back when I call him"

My family has always had dogs although at the moment I am dogless; I lost my boy last May and as I work full time I am not in a postition to be bringing up a new dog. I do have a horse who I train to eat carrots! Both Thor (horse) and Cam (dog) set me on the path to finding better ways to train animals.